district news header

Hughes scholarships go to Rubio, Tamayo

Post Date:05/15/2017 9:19 AM

Hughes scholarships go to Rubio, Tamayo

Manteca High senior Karisa Rubio and Manteca Unified District Office employee Rayanne Tamayo were selected by the Harold M. Hughes Scholarship Committee as the 2017 award recipients.

Rubio will be attending CSU-Fullerton, where she will major in mathematics and pursue a career in education as a high school teacher. She is an avid volleyball player and has donated countless hours in the community.

Rubio stated in her essay, “Teachers that I have had in the past have incorporated life skills into the classroom and I hope to do the same thing when I become a teacher. Teachers not only help with homework, but they can also be a person to talk to if a child is going through a hard time…I hope to give back by always being there for my students.” !

Tamayo works at the Manteca Unified School District office in the Compensatory Education department as the secretary to the coordinator, Julie Smith.

In her essay, Tamayo quoted George Eliot saying, “It’s never too late to be what you might have been.”

Despite many obstacles and hurdles early in life, Tamayo has never given up on the belief in herself and the power of an education. She earned her B.A. degree in Applied Studies from Brandman University and is currently pursuing her M.A. degree in counseling so that she can give back to students in her community. She accomplished all of this while raising her children. Tamayo and her kids volunteer and give back in the community and with their church.

Her supervisor, Julie Smith, states that, “Ms. Tamayo’s current career in Teacher Development has proven to be inspiring for her and further sparked her interest in education. Her self-motivation will take her far in life.”

The Hughes Scholarship has been in place in Manteca Unified since 1993, when Superintendent, Harold Hughes donated $5,000 as seed money to establish a scholarship fund for the children of MUSD employees and MUSD employees who are furthering their education. The first Harold Hughes Scholarship Committee was chaired by Linda Frost, Jerry Ogden, Rick Whole, Frank Purdy, Rick Arucan, Howard Holtsman, Bill Jones, and Lindsay Munoz all played key roles in establishing and promoting the Hughes Scholarship. Over the last quarter-century, 50 MUSD students and staff have been impacted by the generosity of the Hughes Scholarship to help further their education.

The current committee consists of Steve Clark, Katy Jarnagin, Greg Leland, Todd Dunaway, Julie Smith, Stella Oliver, and Steve Moretto.

Return to full list >>