Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Common Core State Standards

common core link district plan MUSD ccss team site smarter balanced 

What are the Common Core State Standards?

  • Educational standards describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject in each grade.
  • Since 2010, 45 states have adopted the same standards for English and Math.
  • These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS).
  • Having the same standards helps all students get a good education, even if they change schools or move to a different state.
  • Teachers, parents, and education experts designed the CCSS to prepare students for success in college and the workplace

How is MUSD Involved in the Transition to the Common Core State Standards?

  • Teachers and administrators are working to build awareness of the instructional changes required by the new standards through staff meetings, research, workshops, and other staff development activities.
  • A district-wide CCSS transition committee is meeting regularly to review all aspects of the standards and to provide recommendations and direction to all teachers and staff.
  • District proficiency standards are being adjusted and aligned to the new standards.
  • CCSS Presentation Slides


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer