Assembly Bill (AB) 104

  • The state of California recently enacted a new law.  Assembly Bill (AB) 104 as an urgency bill with immediate effect on July 1, 2021. Section 3 of AB-104 modified California Education Code (EC) Section 51225 provides options for students and parents/guardians to address learning and credit recovery needs/options for those who struggled academically during the pandemic-impacted 2020-2021 school year.  Each area of the new law is described below as referenced on the California Department of Education website here 

    These include: 

    • A process for students who were enrolled in grades K-11 for the 2020-2021 year to request to repeat the last grade 
    • A process for high school students to change eligible grades to Pass/No Pass 
    • Opportunities for students who are not on track to graduate to be able to graduate, including but limited to credit recovery, remediation, extending to a 5th year, or completing statewide requirements.  

     

    Process for K-11 Students to Request to Repeat the 2020-2021 Grade 

    This law provides a process for parents and guardians to request that their student repeat the grade they were enrolled in during the 2020-2021 school year. Parents and guardians of students who were in grades Kindergarten – 11 in the last school year would be eligible to make this request if their student received a D, F, or No Pass grade for at least one-half of their coursework in the 2020-2021 school year. This request would trigger a personalized consultation with a guidance counselor (9-12) or your site Principal (K-8) to review and discuss all learning recovery options and supports that the student could access. 

    How to apply: Click on this link for High School or Elementary to submit a written request.  

     

    Process for High School Students to Change Grades to Pass/No Pass 

    AB 104 also provides a process for high school students to request that a letter grade they received in the 2020-2021 school year be changed to a Pass/No Pass grade. 

    Click here to view a list of postsecondary institutions that will accept, for admission purposes, a transcript with a Pass or No Pass grade instead of a letter grade for an applicant pursuant to Education Code Section 49066.5(b) from 2020-21 through the 2023-24 school year. It is important for students and families to know that some postsecondary educational institutions, including those in other states, may not accept a Pass or No Pass grade instead of a letter grade for admission purposes.  

    Please note letter grades A, B, or C are classified as Pass. Letter grades D and F are classified as No Pass, and will appear as such on your high school transcript should you apply. 

    How to apply: A specific application for these requests has been developed by the California Department of Education (CDE). This form will be sent to MUSD families within 15 days, along with a list of postsecondary educational institutions that will accept a Pass/No Pass grade, instead of a letter grade. 

    Families will have 15 days from the date the district posts the form to make the request. After this time, requests will no longer be considered. 

    ***The Pass/No Pass designation option is only available to high school students for fifteen (15) calendar days following the date of this notification (deadline to submit Grade Change Applications is Tuesday, August 24, 2021). 

     

    Exemption for 2020-2021 Juniors and Seniors of District Graduation Requirements 

    Finally, the law requires that high school students who were in their third or fourth year of high school during the 2020-2021 school year, and who were not on track to graduate in four years, may be exempt from MUSD's graduation requirements that exceed statewide requirements. It also requires high schools to provide credit recovery support for these students, including the option to retake courses, or to enroll in a fifth year of high school, to complete state graduation requirements. 

    How to apply: Manteca Unified School District staff has contacted and/or will contact students eligible for this exemption. You do not need to contact the district or the school sites. 

    If you have any questions, please email your school site counselor or principal.  

     

    AB 104 Announcement