Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title


The English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC) is the mandated state test for determining English language proficiency (ELP). It is administered as an initial assessment to newly enrolled students whose primary language is not English, as indicated on a home language survey; and, annually, as a summative assessment to students who have been previously identified as EL students.

The general and Alternate ELPAC are delivered via a computer-based test delivery platform. The general ELPAC has four domains (Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing) which are administered on computer except for the Writing domain for kindergarten through grade two, which will remain as a paper-based test. The Alternate ELPAC has two communication modes: expressive (Speaking and Writing) and receptive (Listening and Reading).

ELPAC Resources

Starting Smarter

Use this site to better understand your child’s ELPAC test score report. Soon you’ll be starting smarter conversations with your child’s teacher about how to support learning at home! This resource provides practice test questions and provides additional resources to support parents' awareness of the ELPAC.

Parent/Guardian Resources

This resource connects users to the State ELPAC Assessments for California website and has videos that review the Initial and Summative ELPAC Tests and scoring. It also has practice tests that can do done at home to help prepare for the tests.